Release Date 2023

San Francisco Sounds: A Place in Time

Synopsis /

San Francisco Sounds: A Place in Time is a two-part docuseries that celebrates the musical and artistic renaissance that exploded in the San Francisco Bay Area from the mid-sixties into the mid-seventies.
Told through firsthand accounts of artists who lived it, the series explores the creative spirit that led to the emergence of psychedelic rock music, light shows, and poster arts; the origin of the rock concert with the Fillmore and Avalon ballrooms; the birth of “freeform” radio; and the new rock journalism that defined a generation–and generations to come. The series is an intricately crafted musical journey that weaves personal stories with never-before-seen archival footage, photos, and audio. Featuring the music of Jefferson Airplane, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Janis Joplin, the Grateful Dead, Steve Miller, Moby Grape, Santana, Sly and the Family Stone, the Doobie Brothers, and many more.

Director /

  • Alison Ellwood
  • Anoosh Tertzakian

Producer /

  • Jill Burkhart
  • Erin Edeiken
  • Tess Ranahan
  • Richard Story
  • Michael Wright

Executive Producers /

  • Alison Ellwood
  • Justin Falvey
  • Darryl Frank
  • Jeff Jampol
  • Tom Mackay
  • Frank Marshall
  • Stacey Offman
  • Aly Parker
  • Richard Perello
  • Mark Pinkus
  • Jeffrey Pollack
  • Charles Cohen

Cinematographer /

  • Samuel Painter

Editor /

  • Alison Ellwood
  • Anoosh Tertzakian
  • Alexis Johnson

Music By /

  • Paul Pilot